Posted by GLEN BEAUCHAMP on Jul 01, 2019
Engadine Rotary started its 46th Year of Commuity Service at its Annual Changeover 17th June 2019 
" Whatever Rotary may mean to us, to the world it (Rotary ) will be know by the results it achieves " 
This short statement which is attributed to Rotary's Founder Paul Harris continues to ring true after some 100 years on.
At our annual Changeover, Incoming President John Walters highlighted the club's achievements and acknowledged the efforts and contributions by members of the club through their many years of service and during the past year.
President John welcomed and recognised the following Guests  
  • District Governor Elect and soon to become District Governor, Di North. John congratulated Di on being awarded an OAM in the recent Queen's Birthday awards.
  • Assistant Governor Edei Ledet.  
 L to R  Assistant Governor Edei Ledet , President John Walters and Rotary District 9750 District Governor Di North 
The presentation of achievements and awards follow. 
    President John outlined the Club's achievements for the 2018/2019 Year and proposed major projects for the year ahead noting especially 
    • Our response to the drought appeal, not only the Channel 9/Rotary appeal but also our connection with Forbes and support there
    • The Bike Ride – commending the committee, noting the participation of students from Youth off the streets and their passion for the ride.
    • Vehicle for Thomas almost complete with the fitting out of the vehicle due in September
    • Our new venture of Engadine Markets providing us the opportunity to promote Rotary
    • The graffiti removal program headed by John Gardner
    • The successful TAFE award night attended by the Minister for Tertiary Education organised by Terry Grainger  
    • Examples of support to schoolchildren in need through the School Mates program
    • Our continued support of Rotarians against malaria, research
     President John announced two major projects to be undertaken in 2019/2020 viz :
    • Develop our program with indigenous readers ‘See it, say it, share it’ through the support of other Rotary Clubs and AEC groups.
    • Establish an Interact Club spearheaded by Peter Sheehy and Terry Grainger
    President John then presented a cheque for $1000 to Beryl Cross of Sutherland Inner Wheel club to support the Inner Wheel Australia Cord Blood project, researching stem cells and their benefits.
    President John  recognised Paul Harris Fellows  by presenting  Paul Harris medals to the following members :
    •  Fraser Mackay-Sim 41 years as club member, club president and being a key sponsor and participant of the Bike Ride
    •  Barry Cross – 30 years club member, club president, supporting the Bike Ride and all our BBQs
    In turn,  Past President Greg Mokeeff presented a Paul Harris fellowship medal to John Walters – for continuing his work as president but also for the many initiatives he has brought to our club.
    L to R Past President Greg Mokeeff ,Fraser Mackay- Sim ,  President John Walters , Barry Cross
    The Club's Rotarian of the Year award was awarded to Community Service director John Gardner . This award is decided by club members who vote for the member who has contributed most to the club , community and to Rotary. John Gardner as Community Service Director has organised and successfully completed the Clubs efforts with graffiti removal, Chaired the Carols committee as well as a number of community aid projects for elderly people.
    John Gardiner  holding the perpetual award with President John Walters about to present his personal award  
    District Governor Di praised the work of Rotary in being instrumental in the establishment of the United Nations 75 years ago. The UN would also like to be involved in Rotary and offers a scholarship for a student wishing to study more on the workings of United Nations. Di also noted the UN’s partnership with Rotary in the Polio vaccine program.
     She invited those attending to join her team in the City to Surf and also to support her sponsorship which will go to Australian Rotary Health
    President John then presented the Incoming Club Board Members, thanking them for their continued support for the 2019/2020 year .
    Left  to Right : President John Walters, Vice President Sam Issa , President Elect Steve Heathcote , D.G. Di North, Secretary Joy Pogson 
    Treasurer Kevin Stuart , Youth Services Director Peter Sheehy, International Service Director Terry Grainger,  Membership & publicity Fraser Mackay-Sim 
    Absent Club Service Director Gary Richards
     We hope that the world now knows more about Rotary and the Rotary Club of Engadine and that we continue to connect with the world